Prodigy by Marie Lu Review (Legend #2)

Prodigy (Legend, #2)

Title: Prodigy
Author: Marie Lu
Published: 2013
Genre: Dystopian
Length: 371 pages
Rating: ★★★★☆

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

Packaging: 4.5/5 Stars. Although I don’t love the cover of Prodigy as much as I love the cover of Legend, it’s still absolutely stunning and captivating, and I love it more than I love most book covers.

Writing Style: 4/5 Stars. Marie Lu does it again! With more plot twists at every turn, the writing of Prodigy was able to captivate me in the same way that that of Legend did.

Characters: 4/5 Stars. Although the drama between June and Day was often exasperating and frustrating, I really enjoyed seeing their characters develop as they struggled to adapt to their new circumstances. New characters were introduced (I developed a particular fondness for Anden) and we get to see the different sides of characters introduced in Legend. My love for June only grew in this book- her pragmatism and clear sense of logic persevered, although it was done in a way that it still gave her room for vulnerability and realism. Day, for me personally, lacked during this book, but he made up for it during the later half of this story. 

Plot: 4/5 Stars. I honestly thought the premises for Prodigy was brilliant. There were so many plot twists that absolutely delighted me- I began this book thinking that I had things figured out, but I ended up being so absolutely wrong (I’ve never been so pleased about being wrong about something). The trials that all the characters have to face, whether they take place in the characters’ personal lives or in the capital of the Republic itself, contribute to the plotline and character development, and were beautifully executed.

Overall: 4/5 Stars. Although I didn’t love Prodigy as much as I loved Legend (mainly due to all the conflict occurring in Day and June’s relationship, I found it to be extremely frustrating and never really resolved), Prodigy was a vibrant sequel to Legend and left me eagerly anticipating the next and final addition to the series. 

Leave a Reply

