March 2015 Book Haul

art of war + goldfinch

First of all, I know that there are only two books in this haul and that this is a very small number of books for a book haul, but I want to start posting monthly book hauls that feature the collective amount of books that I’ve gotten (unless I don’t happen to get any books during the month- in that case, I obviously wouldn’t post a haul at all). These two books happen to be all the books that I’ve gotten this month, but I hope you enjoy anyway!

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt 

the goldfinchIt begins with a boy. Theo Decker, a thirteen-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, disturbed by schoolmates who don’t know how to talk to him, and tormented above all by his unbearable longing for his mother, he clings to one thing that reminds him of her: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the underworld of art.

As an adult, Theo moves silkily between the drawing rooms of the rich and the dusty labyrinth of an antiques store where he works. He is alienated and in love-and at the center of a narrowing, ever more dangerous circle.

The Goldfinch is a novel of shocking narrative energy and power. It combines unforgettably vivid characters, mesmerizing language, and breathtaking suspense, while plumbing with a philosopher’s calm the deepest mysteries of love, identity, and art. It is a beautiful, stay-up-all-night and tell-all-your-friends triumph, an old-fashioned story of loss and obsession, survival and self-invention, and the ruthless machinations of fate.

I actually picked up this book because I needed it for a project that I have in English- however, I’ve wanted to read this for a while, as a lot of my friends absolutely adored it and have been raving about it to me, along with the rest of Donna Tartt’s books. Along with the fact that The Goldfinch received a Pulitzer Prize, this has lead to me having high hopes for this book (even if I have to read it for school). 

My copy of The Golfinch also happens to be a signed one! 

signed

The Art of War by Sun Tzu 

art of war

Conflict is an inevitable part of life, according to this ancient Chinese classic of strategy, but everything necessary to deal with conflict wisely, honorably, victoriously, is already present within us. Compiled more than two thousand years ago by a mysterious warrior-philosopher, The Art of War is still perhaps the most prestigious and influential book of strategy in the world, as eagerly studied in Asia by modern politicians and executives as it has been by military leaders since ancient times. As a study of the anatomy of organizations in conflict, The Art of War applies to competition and conflict in general, on every level from the interpersonal to the international. Its aim is invincibility, victory without battle, and unassailable strength through understanding the physics, politics, and psychology of conflict.

I’ve been wanting to read The Art of War for such a long time now, so when I came across this particular edition that’s absolutely gorgeous, I bought it immediately. As someone who’s fascinated with strategy, I knew that this book would be a must-have. I’m really excited to read it, and you can most likely expect a review of The Art of War to be up on this blog soon. 

I hope this haul was enjoyable, as I plan to do one every month from now on- let’s all hope that I’ll have a few more books for next month!

Leave a Reply

