Golden by Melinda Michaels Blog Tour

Golden Tour Badge copy

Today, I’m really excited to feature the next stop of the Golden Blog Tour on FabledHaven! Included in this tour stop is an author interview, (linked) review of the book, a book trailer and a giveaway of Golden. 

golden-cover-reveal

Title: Golden | Buy it here
Author: Melinda Michaels
Published: 2015
Genre: Fantasy

High school senior Hanna Loch just suffered a blackout in front of her entire homeroom class. She hasn’t had one in over ten years, and she’s terrified—the last time she blacked out, she woke up with no memory of her life before. To make matters worse, no one can explain why it happens. For Hanna, bad things tend to come in threes.

And that doesn’t even begin to cover it . . .

When she learns she could be a descendant of someone who lived /once upon a time/, Hanna must put her trust in William Vann, a descendant of one of the most hated villains ever known. Their histories are intertwined in more ways than she expected, and he has answers about her past, answers even her family won’t share.

But is it safe to put her trust in someone who appears to be danger reincarnate, while trying to escape the darkness that tried to kill her ten years ago?

A loose fairytale retelling, GOLDEN is a story that’s just right, weaving together lost secrets, vengeful enemies, and what happens when fiction becomes reality.

After reading the synopsis for this book, I’m sure that you can understand why I was so intrigued, especially as someone who loves fantasy and is a fairy tale enthusiast. After finishing the book, I was left with some questions that I wanted to ask the author (this happens quite frequently whenever I enjoy a book), which is why I’m excited to say that I was able to have an interview with the author of Golden, Melinda Michaels. 


Author Interview

– What is it about Golden that you think will appeal to readers?

MELINDA: I hope readers will enjoy the mystery of the Golden universe. I always love to be enveloped in a new fictional world. Plus, I hope readers will easily relate to the characters. Nothing makes me happier when I can identify with a character and I hope readers will identify with those in Golden.

– What inspired the plot of Golden?

MELINDA: I’ve always been obsessed with my family history and history in general. For some reason, as a kid I was convinced I was the great granddaughter of a Duke. When it turned out that I wasn’t royal, I searched for ancestors with interesting or prolific lives. I so wanted to be related to someone important and when I started writing Golden I thought, well she’s sort of like me, nothing really exceptional about her, but maybe she was more special then she realized. I think writing Golden has helped me realize that heritage, while important, shouldn’t be a factor in how we see ourselves. Poor Owen, he struggles with that too.

– Is there any aspect of Golden that was inspired from your own life?

MELINDA: I’m actually a descendent of Goldilocks… Just kidding. I think the relationship Hanna has with her grandmother was inspired by my relationship with my grandmother. They’re close enough where they can have a proper argument, but can squash it quickly. I was very close with my grandmother and I always end up writing her into my stories without even realizing it, sometimes as grandmothers or younger women. Every overly wise female character I write has bits and pieces of my grandmother.

– Which character in Golden can you relate to the most?

MELINDA: I’m probably most like Carly, Hanna’s best friend. I’ve been accused of being dramatic nearly every day of my life, which is fine because it’s true.

– Golden is loosely based on a fairy tale (a few, actually), which is something I really enjoyed, seeing that I love fairy tales. What’s your personal favorite fairy tale?

MELINDA: I’ve read hundreds of fairytales from a dozen different countries and cultures and for some reason the Twelve Dancing Princesses is one of my favorites. I think it’s because the youngest sister actively tries to get rid of the hero three times and she doesn’t succeed. I also fell madly in love the first time I saw Arthur Rackham’s painting depicting it.

– I really enjoyed Golden, I think that it’s definitely a book worth being proud of. That being said, what aspect of Golden are you proudest of?

MELINDA: I think that I can read it after all this time and still smile. I’ve completed several manuscripts that, after a few months of being hidden away, I’ll pull out and cringe. It’s not that they’re bad, but I’m very critical of my work and Golden is the first book I’ve written that instead of thinking, “What in the world was I on when I wrote this?” I think, “Oh, Melinda that was good. Good line, but keep reading just to make sure… Oh, great paragraph. Good job.”

– Who’s an author that you really admire or look up to?

MELINDA: That’s a difficult question. I’m really in awe of the indie authors out there at the moment. The publishing world has changed so drastically in the past few years and I think it’s still morphing into what it will eventually become. It’s kind of an exciting time, especially to be a part of the shaping of that future world.

– If you could vacation in any fictional world for a week, which book’s world would you choose to visit?

MELINDA: I would visit the other side of Wall in Stardust by Neil Gaiman. I like it so much because it doesn’t leave this world, but it’s a different place entirely.

– How long have you wanted to be a writer for? What inspired you, and what advice do you have for any hopeful authors out there?

MELINDA: I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was about nine years old. It’s funny, I had a very difficult time reading as a kid and I didn’t like books at all until I realized that all my favorite movies were books first. I always loved movies and in a reverse sort of way, movies helped me love books and love reading. When I decided that writing was going to be my career, it felt like I was coming home.

My advice for hopeful authors would be to be realistic, be persistent and be honest. Don’t just have the one big dream. Break it down to smaller goals and achievements. Don’t give up, even after your hundredth rejection or your third unpublished manuscript. Every sentence you write is another sentence closer to your goal. And you have to be honest and critique your work because it will be edited and editors are the greatest people in the world. They just want to make your manuscript the best it possibly can be, so you have to be honest with yourself.

A huge thank you to Melinda for answering all my questions; I really loved being able to gain some insight into the inspiration behind Golden as well being able to learn more about you as an author. 


Personally, I ended up liking Golden much more than I expected to. While I was very intrigued by the premise of the book, my expectations weren’t very high, as this was my first time reading anything by the author. However, I found myself really being absorbed in the story, and eagerly flipping through the pages to find out what would happen next. I really enjoyed the main character, as well as the loose fairy tale aspect of the book. Because I don’t want to make this post excessively lengthy, an in-depth review of Golden can be found here.

Giveaway

You can enter a giveaway to win a copy of Golden here

Golden Book Trailer

About the Author

Melinda Michaels Author Photo

Melinda Michaels is the author of Golden and currently lives in Milford, Pennsylvania. A self-proclaimed historian with a rare sense of humor, Melinda finds an immense amount of joy in knowing useless facts, exploring historical places and drinking copious amounts of coffee. When she’s not writing she can be found researching obscured time periods for her own amusement or refurbishing old furniture.

Melinda loves Philadelphia and visits often to enjoy the city with her husband Andrew. Together they have three rambunctious pets. Archie the Beagle, Winston the Boston Terrier and Beatrice the cat.

Golden is the first in a Young Adult magic realism series.
Find Melinda Michaels on facebook, twitter, or her website.

Leave a Reply

