Golden by Melinda Michaels Review

Golden

Title: Golden
Author: Melinda Michaels
Published: 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: ★★★★☆

High school senior Hanna Loch just suffered a blackout in front of her entire homeroom class. She hasn’t had one in over ten years, and she’s terrified—the last time she blacked out, she woke up with no memory of her life before. To make matters worse, no one can explain why it happens. For Hanna, bad things tend to come in threes.

And that doesn’t even begin to cover it . . .

When she learns she could be a descendant of someone who lived /once upon a time/, Hanna must put her trust in William Vann, a descendant of one of the most hated villains ever known. Their histories are intertwined in more ways than she expected, and he has answers about her past, answers even her family won’t share.

But is it safe to put her trust in someone who appears to be danger reincarnate, while trying to escape the darkness that tried to kill her ten years ago?

A loose fairytale retelling, GOLDEN is a story that’s just right, weaving together lost secrets, vengeful enemies, and what happens when fiction becomes reality.


I was contacted by the publisher with an inquiry about having my blog host a tour spot for the Golden Blog Tour. After reading the synopsis that was provided, I found myself intrigued, as I absolutely love fantasy and am a fairy tale enthusiast. I accepted, and, after scheduling my tour spot date as well as what I’d be featuring, I began reading Golden as soon as I had the time. My expectations for Golden weren’t very high, but I found myself pleasantly surprised. 

Packaging: 4/5 Stars. I don’t own a physical copy of this book, so I can’t comment on the packaging, but I can say that I really enjoy the cover art. I find it to be really pretty, and I really like how it subtly hints at the fairy tale aspect of the book. 

Writing Style: 4/5 Stars. A huge part of why I was skeptical about reading this book was my doubts about the writing style. Because this was my first time reading Melinda Michaels’ work, I was worried that I may not enjoy it. However, I found myself being absorbed into the story, and eagerly flipping through the pages to see what would come next. I really enjoyed Melinda Michaels’ writing, and especially liked the scenes where she would utilize the art of suspense. The writing and dialogue could grow a bit cheesy at times, but not often enough to really impact my opinion on the writing of this book. 

Characters: 4/5 Stars. I really liked the main character, Hanna. She was persistent and stubborn and brave, and I enjoyed being able to see the world of Golden through her eyes. However, something that I had a problem with was the relationship between her and William Vann- I found that their relationship was too rushed, and as a result, I had trouble believing that they were actually in love. I wish that their relationship had been given time to develop. As for William Vann, I really enjoyed his character as well. He was very mysterious, but it soon became clear that he was inherently good. The supporting characters were all very well written as well; from Hanna’s grandparents to Carly to Owen. While I would’ve liked to see more development from the characters, they were all ultimately well written. 

Plot: 4/5 Stars. really enjoyed the fairy tale aspect of the book. As someone who likes fairy tales, I found it to be extremely captivating and entertaining. The twists that the author put on the fairy tales mentioned were all very unique. A large portion of this book focuses on Hanna and her past, and her inability to remember, as well as her frequent blackouts. I felt that the author handled this very well, and I thought that it was a really interesting plot device. The book was a lot darker than I thought it to be- I wasn’t expecting it to be a light and airy read, but it was a lot heavier than I was anticipating. This isn’t a bad thing at all, though; it made the book stick with me. 

Overall: 4/5 Stars. Golden definitely ended up surprising me- but in a good way. Its author had a strong, enjoyable writing style, it contained memorable, as well as likable, characters, and its plot was strong and captivating. I’m really grateful that I had had the chance to read this book and be introduced to the series, seeing that I ended up enjoying it. Golden was definitely a solid read, and I’ll be counting down the days until the next book in its series is released.

One thought on “Golden by Melinda Michaels Review

Leave a Reply

