BookOutlet Haul | April 2015

IMG_5227

I ordered some books from BookOutlet.com about a week ago, and they just arrived today. If you don’t know what BookOutlet is, it’s an online store (it has a few warehouse locations) that sell books for really low prices- I got all of these books for around $15 total. The only downside is the shipping cost- it’s a bit pricey (plus shipping, the order cost me $20), and it can take a while to ship. I’ll link the BookOutlet link for each of the books in case you want to purchase any of them from there. Enjoy the haul!

Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli | Buy it here

IMG_5229

LOVE, STARGIRL picks up a year after Stargirl ends and reveals the new life of the beloved character who moved away so suddenly at the end ofStargirl. The novel takes the form of “the world’s longest letter,” in diary form, going from date to date through a little more than a year’s time. In her writing, Stargirl mixes memories of her bittersweet time in Mica, Arizona, with involvements with new people in her life.

In Love, Stargirl, we hear the voice of Stargirl herself as she reflects on time, life, Leo, and – of course – love.

Along with Stargirl, Love, Stargirl was a favorite book of mine as I was growing up. My mom picked up Stargirl for me at a thrift store when I was in the fifth grade, and when I finished it and ended up completely adoring it, she bought a copy of Love, Stargirl, too- which I loved just as much. Sadly, back then I would spend a lot of time reading on the porch swing in my backyard, and one day, I accidentally ended up leaving my copy of Love, Stargirl out overnight. It happened to rain, and my book was destroyed- something that I’ve always been very upset about. So naturally, when I went onto BookOutlet and saw a hardcover copy available for an extremely cheap price, I just had to get it. It’s absolutely adorable, and I’m really excited to re-read it. 

Where She Went by Gayle Forman | Buy it here

IMG_5236 (1)

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

I read this book online right after finishing If I Stay, and while I think I enjoyed If I Stay more, I definitely remember liking this book a lot. I received a physical copy of If I Stay for Christmas, and I’ve been wanting a copy of Where She Went ever since. I really tore through this book, since it’s not a very long read, so I’d really like to re-read it.

Teen Angst? Naaah… by Ned Vizzini Buy it here

IMG_5232

The events in these stories are real. Some names have been changes so I don’t get yelled at.” —Ned Vizzini
 
Ned Vizzini writes about the weird, funny, and sometimes mortifying moments that made up his teen years. With wit, irony, and honesty, Teen Angst? Naaah . . .  invites you into Ned’s world of school, parents, cool (and almost cool), street people, rock bands, friends, fame, camp, sex (sort of), Cancún (almost), prom, beer, video games, and more.

Although I’ve never read Ned Vizzini before, I’ve been wanting to for an extremely long time- particularly Teen Angst? Naaah…, although the rest of his books are placed very high on my TBR list as well. I really love the packaging, and this will probably be the first book out of the books in this haul that I’ll be reading. 

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp | Buy it here

FullSizeRender (1)

So, my girlfriend, Cassidy, is threatening to kick me to the curb again, my best friend suddenly wants to put the brakes on our lives of fabulous fun, my mom and big sister are plotting a future in which I turn into an atomic vampire, and my dad, well, my dad is a big fat question mark that I’m not sure I want the answer to.

Some people would let a senior year like this get them down. Not me. I’m Sutter Keely, master of the party. But don’t mistake a midnight philosopher like me for nothing more than a shallow party boy. Just ask Aimee, the new girl in my life. She saw the depth in the Sutterman from that first moment when she found me passed out on the front lawn. Okay, so she’s a social disaster, but that’s where I come in.

Yes, life is weird, but I embrace the weird. Let everyone else go marching off into their great shining futures if they want. Me, I’ve always been more than content to tip my whisky bottle and take a ride straight into the heart of the spectacular now.

This book is one that I’ve heard very mixed things about, and while the summary is a little vague, I find it interesting, and I’ve decided to take a chance with it. Although I’ve heard bad reviews from people who really disliked this book, I’ve also seen really positive ones from people who really adored it. I figured that I couldn’t go wrong with giving it a try, especially considering the price that BookOutlet was offering it at. 

2 thoughts on “BookOutlet Haul | April 2015

Leave a Reply

