Teen Angst? Naaah… by Ned Vizzini Review

Teen Angst? Naaah . . .

Title: Teen Angst? Naaah…
Author: Ned Vizzini
Published: 2000
Genre: Memoir/Short Stories
Length: 258 pages
Rating: ★★★★☆

The events in these stories are real. Some names have been changes so I don’t get yelled at.” —Ned Vizzini
 
Ned Vizzini writes about the weird, funny, and sometimes mortifying moments that made up his teen years. With wit, irony, and honesty, Teen Angst? Naaah . . .  invites you into Ned’s world of school, parents, cool (and almost cool), street people, rock bands, friends, fame, camp, sex (sort of), Cancún (almost), prom, beer, video games, and more.


If you’ve seen my BookOutlet Haul post, you’d know that I’ve really been looking forward to reading Teen Angst? Naaah… for a long time. Teen Angst? Naaah… is the first book that I’ve read by Ned Vizzini, and as I’ve heard many wonderful things about his writing, I had very high hopes. I didn’t find myself disappointed. 

Packaging: 5/5 Stars. I’ve loved this copy of Teen Angst? Naaah… since the first time I saw it. The book was definitely a lot smaller (not thinner) than I expected it to be, but I really love the cover art and find that the cover has a very glossy look and feeling to it. 

Writing Style: 4.5/5 Stars. This book is a collection of short stories/essays from Ned Vizzini’s youth, with most having been published to the New York Times and the New York Times Magazine, that follow him through middle school and high school. I found Ned Vizzini to have a very enjoyable writing style- he was very conversational as well as funny in ways that are not at all obnoxious, and kept me very entertained. I also really liked the little footnotes that he included- he would provide a backstory or expand on a statement that he made, and I found this to be very gratifying. 

Characters: /5 Stars. Since this book is autobiographical, I can’t exactly give it a rating for its characters. But I will say that I really enjoyed reading about young Ned!

Plot: 4/5 Stars. Ned Vizzini’s depiction of events that occurred throughout his youth was extremely enjoyable- his writing could be so funny at times, but could also be serious. I found that he was extremely honest in his writing, and wrote his coming of age the way it was. He faced a number of (often amusing) obstacles as he grew up, and overall had a very entertaining coming of age. 

Overall: 4/5 Stars. Ned Vizzini really did not let me down with this book. I read it within the span of a few hours, and remained entertained during the entire duration of my reading. Teen Angst? Naaah… has an almost nostalgic, wistful tone to it that left me thinking about everything that I’ve been through and everything that I have yet to go through, but inevitably will. 

Leave a Reply

