Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Review (Red Queen #1)

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard 
Published: 2015
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Rating: ★★★★☆

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?


This book has been receiving a ton of hype on the Internet- whether it’s through BookTube or through bloggers, I’ve seen it practically everywhere. However, I was skeptical when I first began reading this book, as I’ve seen reviews stating that this book is overhyped. On the contrary, my expectations were absolutely exceeded. 

Packaging: 4.5/5 Stars. 

I (unfortunately) don’t own a physical copy of this book, but I really love the cover art. From the contrast of the red font to the silver background to the way that the crown on the cover looks as if it’s bleeding, I think it’s absolutely beautiful and the perfect cover for a fantasy book. 

Writing Style: 4.5/5 Stars. 

I really enjoyed Victoria Aveyard’s writing. I found it to be beautiful and fast paced without being flowery or overwhelming. I also didn’t find that her writing tried to hard to seem pathetic; rather, her writing was meaningful and impacting. I also really liked the dialogue that she created. She created a unique voice for each of her characters, and I found myself almost recognizing them based on how they spoke. 

Characters: 4.5/5 Stars. 

I really liked all of the characters in this book, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that I like them. What I mean by this is that I found all the characters to be extremely well written and interesting, but, based on how this book progressed, I have trouble trusting any of them. Beginning with Mare, I liked her, I really did. I was on her side throughout the book. She was brave, loyal, and strong, and she knew the sacrifices that would have to be made. However, there are some things that she did that caused me to be extremely irritated with her, and I had trouble connecting with her on a personal level. With Cal and Maven, I absolutely adored them. I found them to be such interesting and well developed secondary characters, and I loved examining the complexities of their relationship. Their sibling bond, as well as their dynamics, really reminded me of the relationship between Marvel’s characters: Thor and Loki. 

Plot: 4/5 Stars. 

I found the plot of this book to be extremely captivating. I loved reading about the different powers, and the social hierarchy established that separates the low-class Reds from the powerful Silvers was so interesting to me. The politics of this book were another aspect that I really enjoyed, along with the eventual revolution, as well as the revolutionary group. Despite all of this, there were a few issues that I had with the plot, one being the love triangle. The love triangle is something that I absolutely hate in books, and this book wasn’t an exception. I found it to be, quite frankly, really uninteresting and frustrating, especially considering that the love triangle is between Mare and Cal and Maven, who are brothers. With all of the heaviness of this book, I found that a love triangle really wasn’t necessary. However, I do believe that the romantic themes between Maven and Mare were necessary in order for the plot twist to be as shocking as it was. The plot twist was probably one of my favorite parts of the book. I really loved the betrayal aspect of it all.(<-highlight over the blank area with your mouse if you’ve already read the book/don’t mind being spoiled).

Overall: 4/5 Stars. 

Overall, I definitely enjoyed Red Queen a lot, and I wasn’t disappointed at all- in fact, my expectations were exceeded and I was pleasantly surprised. While I did have a few issues concerning the plot, and I had trouble connecting with the main character, Red Queen was a great fantasy read, and I’ll definitely be reading its sequel. 

Leave a Reply

