Would You Rather Tag (Book Edition)

Would you rather…

1) …read only trilogies or standalones?

As much as I love standalones, I’m going to have to go with trilogies. When they’re written well, trilogies allow so much more depth to a plotline and have room for extensive worldbuilding and character development. As long as I love the plot and characters, trilogies make the reading experience really great for me because I’m able to have two more books that’ll help me to better understand and know the characters, and really understand the complexities of a plot. This isn’t saying that these things can’t be achieved with a standalone- my favorite book in the world happens to be a standalone. It’s just that trilogies give me more time with the characters and worlds that I don’t want to let go of.

2) …read only female or male authors?

I’m really not a fan of this question, but as most of my favorite books were written by female authors, I’ll go with female.

3) …shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Ideally, I’d like to be able to shop at Barnes and Noble for all of my books, but it’s way too expensive for me to afford, especially consider how many new books I read a month. I’ll have to go with Amazon due to the fact that it’s more affordable and that it’s convenient.

4) …all books become movies or TV shows?

TV shows. A problem with book-to-movie adaptations is that they often fail to include concepts/plotlines that contribute to the message that a book is trying to convey. For example, with the Harry Potter film series, I really hated how they left out the Percy Weasley storyline- it’s a storyline that was extremely important to me, and I’ll forever be resentful of the fact that they failed to include that it was Percy whom Fred shared his last laugh with. (<- highlight over the blank space with your mouse if you’ve already read the series/don’t mind spoilers). With TV shows, there’s a lot more time for character and plot development.

5) …read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Definitely 5 books a week! 5 pages per day would kill me.

6) …be a professional reviewer or author?

I’d personally much rather be an author.

7) …only reread your Top 20 books or books you haven’t read before?

This is a really difficult question, but I’d rather only read books I haven’t read before. I constantly need new stories to read, and I know that if I could only reread my top 20 books, I’d end up eventually getting sick of them all.

8) …be a librarian or bookseller?

I’d probably rather be a librarian- I’d like being able to recommend books and spend a lot of time with them, rather than have to worry about selling them.

9) …only read your favorite genre or every genre except your favorite?

I honestly don’t even know- I have a hard enough time identifying my favorite genre as it is.

10) …only read physical books or ebooks?

Physical books, definitely! Nothing will ever be able to compare to holding a physical copy of a book in my hands.

Leave a Reply

