The Witching Time by Rachel Faugno Blog Tour + Author Interview

When Caroline Burdick inherits a creepy old house, she’s swept into a maelstrom of witchcraft, illicit love, and dark family secrets that shatter her world.

Hey readers! I’m really excited to host the next stop on the The Witching Time Blog Tour! Included in this tour stop is a synopsis of The Witching Time and an interview with the author, Rachel Faugno. 

29808115

Title: The Witching Time | Buy it on Amazon, B&N, and iBooks
Author: Rachel Faugno
Published: April 2016
Genre: Horror, Suspense, Romance
Caroline Burdick is still mourning the death of her toddler son when she inherits an isolated old house from her great aunt Hetty, a woman she barely knew. But the unexpected windfall comes with a catch: she must live in the house for six months to claim her inheritance. Set on a lonely hilltop in Brookfield, Massachusetts, the house terrifies Caroline, as does her aunt’s menacing companion Sarah Stratton, who has stayed on as housekeeper. Even more disturbing are the repeated appearances of Bathsheba Spooner, a distant relative who was hanged for murder in 1778, and the discovery that Hetty was high priestess of an ancient coven of witches. The only light amidst the darkness is a beautiful young man named Eddy Ross, with whom Caroline falls helplessly in love. But that fleeting joy cannot save her from the deadly maelstrom of witchcraft and family secrets that shatter her world.

After reading such an intriguing premise, I was, as any human would be, incredibly curious about both the author and the inspiration for the book itself. Which is why I am incredibly happy to be able to say that I was able to have an interview with the author of The Witching Time, Rachel Faugno. 


Author Interview

– If you could use only three words to describe The Witching Time, what would they be?

RACHEL: Suspenseful. Haunting. Disturbing.

– What inspired the plot to The Witching Time?

RACHEL: Bathsheba Spooner was a real person who was hanged for the murder of her husband in 1778. She was five-months pregnant with her young lover’s child. I wanted to tell her story, not as a straightforward history but through the experiences of a modern-day relative. I liked the idea of a naïve character who is unwittingly drawn into a supernatural world in which her own life begins to mirror Bathsheba’s.

– Is there any aspect of The Witching Time that was inspired from your own life?

RACHEL: I believe that attitudes and inclinations are passed down through generations. Many of my ancestors had a mystical bent that expressed itself in a certain rootlessness, a kind of restless searching. So I think it was easy for me to conceive of a character whose life is changed by an ancestor’s restless spirit.

– Which type of reader do you think would most enjoy your book?

RACHEL: Readers who enjoy conflicted characters, complex relationships, a touch of erotica, and a heavy dose of the supernatural.

– Is there a message in The Witching Time that you hope readers will be able to identify?

RACHEL: I’m hoping that readers will be intrigued by the question of fate vs. free will. The main character, Caroline, does some pretty unsavory things. The central question of the book is, did she make these choices of her own volition, or was her fate predetermined?

– Now more about you! Tell us a bit about yourself and your background?

RACHEL: I grew up in Utah and California and have been living in Massachusetts since the 1970s. I went to college after having three children and eventually worked as a newspaper correspondent, copywriter, and corporate communications writer. I also wrote short stories and novels simply because I love to write. I have a bunch of rejected manuscripts gathering dust. The Witching Time is my first published novel.  

– How do you relate to the characters from your book? Were they inspired by anyone in your life?

RACHEL: Everyone has a dark side. It was interesting for me to watch Caroline’s dark side emerge as circumstances unfolded. It made me wonder how I myself might have responded in similar circumstances. Mr. Cummings was inspired by a man who was a friend and mentor. He was elderly when I met him, full of intelligence and quiet wisdom. I admired him tremendously.

– What books have most influenced you and your life?

RACHEL: I read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn 11 times as a kid. I’ve read Gone with the Wind six times and Evelyn Anthony’s Anne Boleyn at least five times. I think those books are important to me because they showcase strong women who struggle against great odds. I admire strength of character, especially when it’s tempered by decency and compassion.

– If you could vacation in any fictional world for a week, which book’s world would you choose to visit?

RACHEL: I’d love to spend time in St. Mary Mead, the charming English village where Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple lived. What could be better than a picturesque setting, intriguing people, and social niceties – all upended by spine-tingling mystery? Delicious!

– What do you love most about being a writer?

RACHEL: I love discovering other worlds and learning about people and ideas. I love imposing order and meaning on my often muddled, fragmented imaginings. I love playing with the beauty and nuances of language.


About the Author

14769581
Rachel Faugno, a native of Salt Lake City, Utah, makes her home in central Massachusetts. She teaches English at a community college and has worked as a newspaper correspondent, freelance writer, and magazine editor.
Find The Witching Time and Rachel Faugno on Goodreads.  
Leave a Reply

