Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater Review (The Raven Cycle #3)

17378508

Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Published: 2014
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Length: 391 pages
Rating: ★★★★½☆

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.


Packaging:

★★★★★

Although the covers for The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves weren’t favorites of mine, I absolutely adore the cover for Blue Lily, Lily Blue. I think it’s everything that The Raven Cycle series is- beautiful, strange, and curious. 

Writing Style:

★★★★★

Maggie Stiefvater did it again. You’ve all heard me rave plenty of times by now about how phenomenal of a writer she is, but something present in this book that I hadn’t seen before was the way she wrote a building (I refuse to say the word ‘budding’) romance. The connection between Blue and Gansey in Blue Lily, Lily Blue grew stronger than ever, and their relationship became everything from sweet and tender to electric and heart-racing. Maggie wrote this romance so well, and while I’m usually not the biggest fan of romance being the focal point of a book, Bluesey was written so beautifully that I didn’t mind at all. 

Characters:

★★★★★

My love for all the characters is just as strong as ever. If anything, I actually came to feel a genuine connection to Blue- which I know is such an odd thing to say. But for those of you who have experienced a genuine character-to-reader relationship and bond while reading, you know how special the feeling is. I felt connected to Blue in so many different movements throughout this book, which, while I loved her, wasn’t something that I had experienced in The Raven Boys or The Dream Thieves. 

Ronan and Noah’s friendship is adorable and one of my absolute favorites, and we see more in Blue Lily, Lily Blue the love that Ronan really has for his friends- even for Blue, no matter how rough things were for the two of them in the beginning. The scene in the cave where Ronan held Blue and comforted her, and she saw him cry  absolutely killed me. Ronan and Adam’s bond also grew stronger in a way that was so believable- Adam brings out the softer sides of Ronan that we don’t get to see as often. I honestly still don’t know where this relationship will go, but I found myself really, really wishing it would grow. Pynch all the way. 

The ever growing love between Blue and her raven boys can be described in this quote (not summed up, because I don’t think that their love could be sufficiently summed up even if the series was 10 books long):

“You can be just friends with people, you know,” Orla said. “I think it’s crazy how you’re in love with all those raven boys.”
Orla wasn’t wrong, of course. But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.”

Plot: 

★★★★½☆

Things became really intense in Blue Lily, Lily Blue really quickly. We were introduced to sinister (and unexpected) new antagonists, new leads on Glendower, and the search for Maura. This book is the most fast-paced of the series so far, and was in almost always phenomenal in its pacing, in its plotlines, and in its intricacies and complexities.

The only thing that prevented Blue Lily, Lily Blue from getting a full 5/5 stars is that the plot’s complexities became a bit difficult to follow towards the end, and I felt as though it was almost to the point that it detracted from the book. However, this was honestly such a slight setback in the overall scheme of Blue Lily, Lily Blue that it didn’t do much to hurt its rating. 

Overall: 

★★★★½☆

Overall, I gave Blue Lily, Lily Blue a 4.5 out of 5 stars. It’s my favorite book in the series so far, and I’ve been holding my breath every day (metaphorically) until the release of The Raven King– the final installment in The Raven Cycle. 

“Queens and kings
Kings and queens
Blue lily, lily blue
Crowns and birds
Swords and things
Blue lily, lily blue.”

2 thoughts on “Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater Review (The Raven Cycle #3)

  1. When I started this I wasn’t sure if I was going to love it as much as The Dream Thieves, but it really picked up for me halfway through and the ending was so intense! I gave it 5 stars, but I think if Goodreads had a half-rating system I would have gone with 4 and half too. Great review 😀

    1. I definitely shared your fears! I loved TDT so much that I couldn’t see how anything else could compare in terms of writing, plot, and character development, but Blue Lily Lily Blue definitely didn’t disappoint at all. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

