The Birthstone Book Tag

It’s been a really long time since I last did a book tag, and I stumbled across this one and thought it looked fun!

January (Garnet): Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of. 

I will forever maintain that Dolores Umbridge from the Harry Potter series is the evilest character in fictional history. It’s so genuinely cruel to torture young children the way that she did- both emotionally and physically. Plus, she was a blood supremacist. There’s not really much to like about her. 

February (Amethyst): Purple is associated with royalty – Name a book with regal qualities… you can base this off of characters or choose the king of all books.

As a fantasy lover, I read a lot of books that have to do with royalty. But, the first book that came to mind was the Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer, since the royal hierarchy that exists in their world(s) have a lot to do with the plotline.  

March (Aquamarine): Washed out – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower. 

This question took some thought, but I think I’m going to have to go with Juliette from Shatter Me. In Shatter Me, at least, I really disliked Juliette as a character- she felt extremely spineless and ‘wishy washy’, as this tag put it. 

April (Diamond): A diamond in the rough – Name a book that you loved but is not well known.

This one was actually pretty easy for me- definitely my favorite book of all time, On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I’ve actually never met anyone in real life who has read this book without my recommending it- which is both unfortunate and not. Jellicoe Road is one of those books that you love so much that you feel an almost selfish desire to keep it from the rest of the world- to keep it so that it feels like it’s yours, if you know what I mean. 

May (Emerald): Said to balance energy – Name two characters who balance each other well. 

This was so easy that I was almost excited at first- these two names popped in my head immediately, but then the full weight that accompanies those two names really hit me, and I was just left thinking, “crap”. The two characters that I think balance each other perfectly are Jem and Will from The Infernal Devices series. God, these two broke my heart like none other. 

“Jem—Jem is all the better part of myself. I would not expect you to understand.”

June (Pearl): Associated with loyalty – Name a character who is loyal to the end.

I immediately thought of Sirius Black from the Harry Potter series- Sirius would have gone to the end of the world and back for James, and would have done exactly the same for Harry. Harry Potter just has some of the best characters ever written overall. 

July (Ruby): Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Oh GOD. I almost had a hernia while reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn- not because of the book or the storyline itself. In theory, I loved the storyline (and I loved the movie). The thing is, in reality, I could not stand reading about the characters. I hated both Amy and Nick so much; they made my blood boil. They were both extreme narcissists that attempted to justify their unjustifiable actions- especially Nick, who consistently attempted to alleviate all blame pointed towards him by trying to justify his actions. 

August (Peridot): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character. 

This question was also easy- I loved Alec and Izzy from The Mortal Instruments series infinitely more than I loved Clary. Clary could just be so irrational and hotheaded and impulsive, which just got progressively irritating as the series went on. 

September (Sapphire): Blue like the ocean which is calming – Name a book that had a calming effect on you. 

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson always has a calming effect on me whenever I read it- it’s just a lighthearted, but substantial and meaningful, contemporary that I like to read whenever I’m down and need something to pick me up. 

October (Opal): Iridescent – Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (shiny? lots of colour?) or you can base it off of a character (quirky? colourful?)

One of the most beautiful covers that I have the pleasure of owning belongs to Cress by Marissa Meyer. It’s always been a favorite of mine, and it’s just honestly so, so beautiful. 

November (Topaz): Associated with resilience – Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity. 

This one was actually hard to think of, but I’m going to go with Mia from If I Stay by Gayle Forman, which may seem a bit unexpected. But she lost her entire family and nearly her life in one blow, and then managed to still continue on to become one of the best musicians there is. I think that makes her one of the most resilient characters out there.

December (Blue zircon): Associated with friendship – Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of. 

I think we all know what I’m going to say- the golden trio from the Harry Potter series!! Honestly, they’re the ultimate friendship goals, and I don’t know anyone who doesn’t aspire to have friendships as strong as theirs. 


This was honestly such a fun tag to do- especially since I haven’t done one in a while. I tag Makayla @ Invisible Reads, Jorelene @ Page Chronicles, Doven @ The Reading Dove and Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews!! 

12 thoughts on “The Birthstone Book Tag

  1. Oh! Nice book tag, I was planning to do this one as well in the near future! I totally agree with Sirius black being loyal. I was very upset when he died.

    The more I hear about the Shatter Me series, the less likely I want to read it. I dislike wish washy characters.

    1. That’s great!! Be sure to link me to it when you do, I’d love to read your answers. And so was I- I was honestly so devastated, and it took me a while to recover from his death. Yeah, I was honestly just very disappointed with the Shatter Me series- I couldn’t stand the main character at all.

      1. Sure. 😀 I’ll remember to link you. And woot woot. Thanks to you, I can save time and effort by not bothering with the series.

        I’m still debating on what I would write for them. Just gotta find the time to do the tag. haha.

  2. I really want to start reading the Lunar Chronicles series – I’ve put it off for too long already! Cinder has been patiently waiting on my bookshelf for a couple of months, so I’m going to pick it up soon!

    Oooh, I totally get what you mean about Gone Girl. I didn’t read the book, but it astounded me how Nick justified his actions in the movie. Sure, Amy wasn’t the greatest either, but that’s also not an excuse for Nick.

    Thank you so much for the tag, Katherine! I’ll get around to it once things settle down for me and become less busy (so probably in a few weeks, after I graduate). 🙂 ❤

    1. I definitely recommend reading the Lunar Chronicles! I’m sure you’ll love it, I don’t know if I’ve ever met anyone who hasn’t. And I know!! Nick was absolutely unbearable.
      You’re so welcome! I’m excited to see your responses, and good luck with your last few weeks of college!

  3. Oooh, I love this! Thanks for tagging me. Great choices too 😀

    Umbridge was seriously evil. Just thinking about her makes me uncomfortable. Ugh. Amazing credit to JK though for writing someone who’s able to evoke such a reaction.

    All the characters in Gone Girl infuriated me so much. I honestly wouldn’t have cared if they all killed each other because at least then they would have shut up 😂

Leave a Reply

