Intimidating TBR Tag

I was tagged to do this by Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews!! She runs an amazing blog and is basically amazing in general; thank you so much for the tag! This is one of my favorite tags to read/watch, so I was really excited to do this. 


18143977

What book have you been unable to finish?

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I’m not even kidding when I say that I’ve tried to start this book at least 5 times, but for some reason, I can never get past the first 50 pages. It’s extremely frustrating because I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it so !?!? I’m planning to buddy read All the Light We Cannot See with Makayla @ Invisible Reads soon, though, so hopefully I finally manage to finish it. 


290979

What book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

In all technicality, this would be a re-read, but I first read War and Peace when I was 13(?), so I don’t think I appreciated it as much as I think I would now. War and Peace is pretty huge, though, so I know there’s no way I’d be able to read it with the chaos of school. Hopefully I’ll be able to this summer, though!


16150830

What book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (The Darkest Minds #2)

I’m genuinely so ashamed to admit this, but I never actually got around to reading Never Fade. I don’t understand why I never read it, especially since I remember enjoying The Darkest Minds so much. I attribute it to sheer laziness (I’m a mess). 


17378527

What book have you yet to read because it’s a new release?

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #4) 

I’m so excited/scared for this book that !?!? I honestly can’t even articulate it. I’ve been waiting for The Raven King to come out for over a year, and there’s no other book that I want to read as much as this one (at the moment). I just cannot find the time to give it the attention it deserves, which is driving me up the wall. The second school is out, though – I’ll be glued to this book. 


13188676

What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t like it?

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #3)

I really disliked Shatter Me. I then decided to give the series another chance (because of all the hype surrounding it) and read Unravel Me – which I actually ended up hating more than Shatter Me. To be completely honest, I can’t really remember anything that happened in either of those books – this series is just very unmemorable to me, and because of how much I disliked the first two books, I don’t know if I’ll ever actually get around to reading Ignite Me. 


17333223

What book have you yet to read because you aren’t in the mood?

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Goldfinch from friends of mine, and I’ve tried reading it but could never get past the first chapter or so. I’ve just never found myself in the mood for Donna Tartt’s flowery, sprawling prose, but I really want to eventually read it. 


 

24280What book have you yet to read because it’s humongous?

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

I’ve been wanting to read Les Mis for YEARS now, but it’s!! just!! so!! HUGE!! It’s 1,500 pages, and it’s such an intense read – I really just need to devote an entire weekend to reading Les Mis (while crying to the soundtrack). 


What book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy with bad reviews?

I’m actually proud to say that I’ve never done a cover buy – I always check book reviews on Goodreads before buying anything!


24817626

Which book on your TBR is the most intimidating to you?

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

This has to be Go Set a Watchman. I think this is so intimidating to me because of how much I adored To Kill A Mockingbird – I first read it back in grade 5, and it was honestly just so powerful and moving, and it remains so special to me  + an all time favorite to this day. As a result, saying that Go Set a Watchman has a lot riding on its shoulders is an understatement. I haven’t heard the best things about it either, so that just stresses me out. 


 

If you’ve done this tag/want to do this tag, link me to it in the comments section! I love being able to see people’s TBR shelves.

I tag:

 

11 thoughts on “Intimidating TBR Tag

  1. Thank you so so much for the tag Katherine! 🙂 I’ll be sure to have fun with this one.
    I’ve been meaning to read Les Mis for SO long too. Be sure to let me know if you get to it first 😀 I haven’t read War and Peace, but it’s on my list. I read Anna Karenina and just couldn’t be asked to finish it. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either? I’ll try pick it up again some time and give it another go.
    I need to read All the Light we Cannot See too! It looks great – and all those good reviews! Gah! So many books.

    1. I know what you mean about Anna Karenina! I didn’t enjoy it as much as I remember enjoying War and Peace, but I may try giving it a reread too. And I know! Too many books to read – it’s an eternal struggle 😅

  2. Yay, so happy you did this! I have so much respect for you that you managed to read War and Peace, haha. I don’t think I’d ever be able to. I went through a Les Mis phase and really wanted to read the book, but again there’s so many pages haha. It took me over a year to read Never Fade because of life and reading slumps, but I really enjoyed it and the rest of the series 😊 and The Raven King was perfect 😍

    1. Les Mis is HUGE – I just don’t know where I’ll find the time for it 😅 I’m really hoping to eventually read Never Fade; I feel like such a fraud for saying I love Alexandra Bracken when I haven’t even finished The Darkest Minds series 😂

  3. I just did this tag too! I also didn’t have an answer for the question on cover buys and reviews though for a different reason. I do cover buys a lot but I don’t often read (or not read) books based on the reviews.

    1. Is it so that no one’s opinion of the book influences yours before you read it?? Because if so, that’s actually really good! There’s definitely been times I felt compelled to like a book when I disliked it because so many other people enjoyed it.

      1. That happens to me sometimes but that’s not why. I don’t set much on other opinions until I’m halfway through the book.

  4. All The Light We Cannot See is one of my most highly anticipated books on my bookshelves! It’s too bad you couldn’t get through it so far – I hope I don’t run into the same issue. I’m in the same boat with the The Goldfinch too! I’ve been wanting to read it for a while, but nothing has really pushed me to actually pick it up yet.

    Thank you so much for the tag, Katherine! I’ve been eyeing this tag, so I can’t wait to do it. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

