The Liebster Award

I’m really happy to have been nominated for the Liebster Award, since it’s my first ever blogger award! A huge thank you to The Inky Awkto for nominating me, and for all the interesting questions. 


The Rules:

This award is given to smaller bloggers to help gain recognition and also bring the book community closer together.

1. Acknowledge the blog(s) that nominated you and display the award.
2. Answer the 11 questions that the blog gives you.
3. Give 11 random facts about yourself.
4. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think are deserving of the award that have less than 200 followers.
5. Let the blogs know you have nominated them.
6. Give them 11 questions to answer.


The Questions:

1. When you were a child, what were your interests?

When I was younger, I did a lot of reading, writing and swimming! I was definitely outside a lot. 

2. When did you discover your passion for reading?

I discovered my passion for reading as a toddler – my parents would read to me for hours every night, and even before I learned to read, I would memorize books (Cat In the Hat, I’m looking at you) and recite them along with them. I’ve been in love with reading ever since. 

3. You just came home from a long day of school/work, what’s your go to meal for days like this?

I usually head straight for a grilled cheese and tomato sandwich – a timeless childhood favorite of mine (which is interesting because I hate raw tomatos, but love tomato sauce, salsa, tomato in sandwiches, etc.???).

4. Got any other hobbies besides being a book blogger?

I also write for Woke Culture, a site dedicated to spreading awareness for social and global issues, and debate/practice for debate/research for cases (my life basically revolves around debate).  

5. If you were ruler of the world for a day, what laws would you enforce?

That… is a lot of pressure to be putting on my decidedly unqualified shoulders. I would probably enforce things that I rarely see enforced in the world around me – like anti-bigotry laws, anti-animal abuse laws, etc. Basically, I’d prefer it if people weren’t assholes. 

6. Would you rather go on a quest with a morally ambiguous antagonist or with a conceited protagonist?

I think I’d have fun with a morally ambiguous antagonist. But that would probably mess things up a bit for me when it comes to my quest 😂

7. If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

Being completely honest, it would probably be something along the lines of mind control (compulsion from Vampire Academy??) or mind reading, but both of those things sound really invasive 😅

8. How do you organize your books? By cover colour? By authors’ last names?

My shelves are a literal mess right now because I ran out of room for all my books a while ago and need another bookcase, so all my books are double stacked. But once I get my second bookcase, I plan on organizing my books by genre. 

9. What’s your favourite book trope?

Hidden heart of gold is an eternal favorite – but not necessarily when it comes to romance/romantic leads (… Jace Wayland). For example, one of my favorite portrayals of this trope is seen in Rosa from The Book Thief. She seems to be brusque and harsh, but she’s so soft for the people she loves, and a genuinely good person. 

Also… it’s not a coincidence that Ronan Lynch is my favorite Raven boy. 

10. Do you have any book tropes you dislike?

I absolutely despise Instalove and Mary-Sue (for any gender) tropes.  

11. Beep boop. You have been turned into a robot, what is your first order of business?

This took me a while to think about, but I think I would install Google in my ‘brain’ as a database. That would be pretty convenient, and that’s pretty much all I’ve got! 


The Facts:

1. I’m a fast reader (about 100 pages an hour, give or take a few) – I never worked on speedreading, I’ve just always read quickly. It doesn’t hinder my overall comprehension of the book, and I pick up the smallest of details just as the slowest of readers would. 

2. I can type on both my phone and laptop without looking and usually while carrying out a conversation, and it freaks my friends out to no end. 

3. I’m pescetarian (as of July 2015) and am thinking about going vegan. I would really, really miss sushi, though. 

4. I love to write, and do it often! I wrote my first ‘novel’ (I use the term loosely) when I was in grade 5 – the document has since been locked and will never see the light of day, if I can help it. 

5. Kind of going off of #4, I’ve regularly kept journals since grade 5. My favorite journals to use for the past 3 years have been the Moleskine ones – I have pink, black, green, grey, and now black again. 

6. I’m running out of ideas. I’m a Scorpio! My best friend is an Aries, and we’re planning to get matching constellation tattoos- hers of Scorpio, mine of Aries. 

7. I’m not sure if I’ve ever said this on this blog, but I’m a WoC (Korean-American), so PoC representation in YA books is extremely important to me and makes me very happy.

8. On that note, basically any representation of marginalized/underrepresented groups makes me very happy. I’m all for that LGBTQIA+ representation, disability representation – I just really like seeing representation. 

9. I own Ginny Weasley’s wand from the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in LA (to be specific: from the Wizarding World’s gift shop. I have yet to pay a visit to the actual Wizarding World!). 

10. I’m in need of a new TV show to watch (I watch(ed) The 100, Agents of Shield, Teen Wolf, The Vampire Diaries, Grey’s Anatomy), so please recommend me some good ones!

11. I want a remake of The Percy Jackson movies so badly. Preferably as a TV show this time.


My Questions:

1. What is your Hogwarts house?

2. If you could live in any fictional world, what would it be?

3. If you could try any fictional food, what would it be? (For example, I would kill to try some of the Capitol foods depicted in The Hunger Games)

4. Would you rather only read books from your favorite genre for the rest of your life, or only read books from genres other than your favorite one? 

5. If you had to lose any of your 5 senses, which would it be? 

6. Your favorite fictional squad? (ex: the Golden Trio, the Raven Boys ft. Blue, Will + Jem + Tessa, etc.) 

7. Would you rather have all book adaptations be movies or TV shows?

8. If you could date any fictional character, who would it be?

9. Who’s your ultimate OTP?

10. If you could pair two characters from different books, who would they be?

11. Favorite icecream flavor?


The Nominees: 

21 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I loved your answers! Hehe.

    Wow, you’re a busy person. Two blogs! I know I wouldn’t be able to keep up with both. Haha a law against assholes. I like that. I like that a lot. I might be a criminal if that law was ever enforced though. What would you do to said assholes? Would you throw them in prison? Fine them? hmm Law’s a tricky thing for sure.

    Ahh we both dislike the same book tropes! Yay!

    Haha I’m surprised your friends are surprised about your touch typing skills. It’s pretty handy to do and i’m not sure how others are so surprised by it. Most people in office jobs have to have touch typing skills.

    I like seeing representation in books as well. So I understand your happiness when you see characters being properly portrayed in novels. AHH! I’m a notebook lover. I would love to see your collection of notebooks. Do you like lined, blank or grids?

    1. Haha yeah, writing for two blogs can get hectic, but I love it! The technicalities of enforcing that law are rather complicated.. 😅 I’m not sure how severe any of the repercussions would be.
      Ahh I’m so glad to hear that! Especially since those are two of my most hated book tropes of all time 😂 And so am I, I honestly never saw being able to type quickly/without looking as that big of a deal!
      YES notebooks are beautiful! If I had the means to do so, I would totally just go all out collecting notebooks. I prefer using lined notebooks for journaling purposes, but I prefer gridded notebooks for my bullet journal. What about you??

      1. Hmm, I always wanted to do a bullet journal, but I’m not sure how the specifications really works for it. Haha.

        I prefer lines for my journals as well, but I never write along with them. I’m starting to make the switch between lined to blanks. cause I don’t follow the lines anyways, right? Haha

      2. I know, some of them can be so gorgeous! I use my bullet journal as an everyday planner, so I have my daily spread (daily to do list), and a monthly spread, so a calendar where I list my events for the month/plan things out in advance!

      3. ooh that sounds handy. I’ll have to take another look into bullet journals then. Do you need yours as neat and pretty as those we see online?

        Or do you use it as you will and not worry about how nice they look?

      4. I definitely would recommend it! I personally am not the most artsy person, so while I like to make my bullet journal look cute and neat, I don’t need them to look as pretty as the ones I see online – my spread is pretty simple!

    2. I can attest to the typing without looking and the fact that it is totally freaky. It probably wouldn’t really be that big of a deal except for the fact that she could be writing a research paper while having an in depth discussion with you about your respective days and it’s honestly probably more amazement that she can keep up with both.

      As far as bullet journaling goes, I also highly recommend it. It’s a great way of keeping organized while making your planner as intricate or simple as you want. I personally figured out how I wanted to organize mine by looking at posts of bullet journals on tumblr and I regularly change my layout when I get bored of the old one.

      1. ooh that’s pretty cool. Do you have any photos of your bullet journal posted up? It’ll be cool to see some layouts. How much time do you put into bullet journalling? Or is it a quick jot down notes and move on?

      2. I personally don’t have any pictures of my bullet journal up, but I really kind of just took what I saw on tumblr and went with it. To create the monthly spread and all of the fun stuff that goes along with it at the beginning of the month, I’ll usually take about an hour on the weekend. But on the daily, I just quickly write down my assignments and check them off as I go. It’s really all about what you want to do with it and some people even do spreads to reflect on their day or week or month etc.

  2. I also started reading as soon as I became literate! Haha, Dr. Seuss was my absolute favorite. 🙂

    That’s so interesting that you’ve been writing for a while now! Have you ever thought about starting a novel to be actually published?

    1. Dr. Seuss is a forever classic! My kindergarten teacher read Oh, The Places You’ll Go to us on our promotion day, and that’s always stuck with me!
      I’ve actually thought about it – for a while, my biggest dream was to be an author (I feel like this is the dream of the majority of book lovers), but that kind of flickered out a few years ago. I’ve gotten back into fiction writing pretty recently, but I’m not sure if anything would come out of it. It’s just something that I’ve always loved! 🙂

  3. “That… is a lot of pressure to be putting on my decidedly unqualified shoulders. […] Basically, I’d prefer it if people weren’t assholes.”

    Ha! I’d nominate you. When can you start?

    Honestly, I love every one of your answers. You sound awesome. 🙂

  4. Thanks so much for the nomination ♥ I can’t wait to answer your questions!

    I loved reading all your answers! Having a brain with a Google database would be the most helpful thing in the entire world. I wish I could have one without being an actual robot 😂 The science world needs to find a way to make this happen! And a huge yes to the laws you’d introduce. It’s kinda sad and scary that being a decent human being is such a rare thing. Hidden heart of gold is one of my favourite tropes too! Ronan 😍

    I’m considering going vegan too… The only meat I eat is chicken, but I want to stop because I know how awfully the chickens get treated and I feel so guilty. I think I’m going to take slow steps and attempt being vegetarian and then just slowly take steps to cut everything out.

Leave a Reply

