Goodreads TBR Unhaul

I saw this post done on A Frolic Through Fiction’s blog, and felt inspired to clean out my own Goodreads TBR list. Check out her post here!

I first made a Goodreads account in April 2014, and since then, not ONCE have I cleaned out my TBR (To Be Read) list. I have 268 books on my TBR shelf, and I haven’t touched (or even looked at them) since adding them to my list. So, I thought it was about time I cleaned out my shelf and got rid of the books that I really don’t plan on reading anymore! 


This will be split into two sections: 

Books that I’ve lost interest in (this one is going to be really long)

Books by authors whose previous works I read but didn’t enjoy


Books I’ve lost interest in

There is quite a bit of books in this section. I was interested in all of these books at one point – a lot of it had to do with hype from the Booktube community (The Merciless, Branded, Inland, Coin Heist, Proxy, and Alienated, I’m looking at you), but at this point, I’m really no longer interested in any of these books – they’ve been sitting on my shelf for over 2 years, so I’m pretty sure I won’t ever be reading any of these. Also, I’m sorry, Anne Brontë, but I really don’t think I’m ever going to get around to reading Agnes Grey. 


Books by authors whose previous works I read but didn’t enjoy

A lot of the books here are from different series, actually – The Geography of You and Me is the only standalone (I wasn’t a fan of The Statistical Probability Of Love at First Sight). The case for most of these books is that I read the first/first and second book/s of the series, didn’t enjoy the book/s, and have since decided that I won’t be continuing. I still feel bad that I disliked the Shatter Me series so much, but it just really, really isn’t for me.


At the end of this unhaul, I ended up being left with 247 books on my TBR instead of 268 – I got rid of less books than I expected to, but it’s still an improvement! I feel a lot more put together now 😂. If I’m making a terrible mistake by unhauling some of these books, let me know so that I can reconsider! 

 

13 thoughts on “Goodreads TBR Unhaul

  1. Kudos to you, my friend! I don’t think I’ve ever actually done this but I can never bring myself to. I created a separate shelf called ‘sound good’ for those books that I think sound good but don’t own – and therefore keep my ‘to read’ just for the books I’ve already got. I feel like that system works really well for me because that way I have a gigantic pool of books to sift through when I’m looking at what to buy 🙂 And omg, I hate the cover of Gray’s Fateful so much, someone please save it and redo the cover aha

  2. Eep, I read The Night We Said Yes and it was easily one of my dullest reads last year, haha. Imho the characters are all so boring and unlikeable, and nothing interesting really happens. I think it’s a good call to remove it from your TBR. 😛

  3. I’m glad my post inspired you to do this!! 😀 I’ve heard of a lot of these and never even added them to my TBR, so I can’t say you’re missing out on any of them really.

  4. Ooh nice unhaul. A lot of those titles I barely recognize or didn’t care for either. I think I should do the same and unhaul some books on my TBR list as well. 😀 thanks for the great ideas!

      1. Haha, I most likely won’t keep track of it as well as you do though. But I could just throw together a list of links and such about it. 😀 I’ll link your post to mine if I decide on doing it. 😀

Leave a Reply

