New York By The Book Tag

I was tagged to do this by Louise @ geniereads! Thanks so much again, Louise, and if any of you aren’t following her blog yet… what are you doing. Go check her out! 


What book is on your nightstand now?

I’ve actually just gotten around to reading Queen of Shadowswhich is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. And I’m absolutely terrified. Pray for me, y’all. 

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

173785272

I’m proud to say I read a truly great book pretty recently – it was The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. I loved this book so, so much – seriously, if you haven’t read The Raven Cycle series yet, you need to get on that ASAP. 

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

My first instinct was to say J.K. Rowling, because it’s J.K. Rowling. There really doesn’t need to be further explanation for that! But I think I’d actually go with Sylvia Plath, who is my all time favorite poet. I’d want to know everything about her, honestly, and ask her if there’s any advice she has for me. 

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf? 

Well, some people might be a bit surprised to find about 20-30 of The Boxcar Children books on one of my shelves! The Boxcar Children was one of my favorite series when I was younger, and I would read them for hours on end. 

How do you organize your personal library?

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but my bookshelves are currently way too full. As in, my books are all currently triple stacked, and there’s an entire shelf where you can’t even see the books because of all the other books stacked in front of it 😂 But, when I finally get around to buying a second bookcase, I’m planning to organize my shelves by genre. 

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? 

17851885

Definitely I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousavzai. I really, really admire Malala, and have admired her for years – but for whatever reason, I have yet to read her book. I really want to just sit down for a day and finally get around to reading it, so let’s hope I manage to do so soon. 

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

13455782

This one was a pretty easy one for me, too – I was extremely underwhelmed by Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I walked into reading this book with extremely high hopes – it was receiving so much hype, and had such a compelling synopsis. But upon actually reading it, there honestly wasn’t much I liked about this book. 

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I’m definitely drawn to fantasy, as it’s my favorite genre, and especially love high fantasy – Throne of Glass, A Song of Ice and Fire, The Winner’s Trilogy, etc. are all books/series that I adore. I also love reading historical fiction! I’ve become more open to contemporary in recent years (I blame Makayla @ Invisible Reads, who reads all things contemporary), but it’s still not something I reach for all the time. I usually stay clear of contemporary romance – it’s honestly not a genre that I’ve ever been interested in, and find more tedious and frustrating than compelling. 

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

2767052

If, for whatever reason, President Obama decided to hit me up for some reading recommendations, I’d probably make him read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I’m not really sure why (I just feel like it would be a recommendation I’d make on a whim), so take from that what you will 😂

What do you plan to read next?

After reading Queen of Shadows, I’m honestly not sure! I still have a few review requests to get to, so quite possibly one of those. I’ll keep you guys posted!


9 thoughts on “New York By The Book Tag

  1. Glad to drag you to the light and fluffy side. 😊 Thanks for tagging me because I was just trying to pound out a bunch of posts to schedule through finals week and you gave me another really fun tag. 😘

  2. Haha this such a fun tag! I have to admit I smiled/giggled a little at your book recommendation for the president (not sure why), but that is a hard one! I don’t know what I’d recommend. I haven’t read The Raven Cycle series. Honestly, I haven’t read a lot of highly recommended YA books out now (feel free to pat me on the back – I’m still technically a teen) but if you’re recommending it, then I’ll do my best to get to it soon 🙂
    Thank you for the tag! I look forward to starting on it soon.

  3. I agree on the utter disappointment that was Shatter Me… after finishing the trilogy I was just sitting there unable to find any redeeming qualities. But everyone else seemed to love it!!??

    1. I know! I know of so many people/book bloggers/Booktubers who absolutely ADORED Shatter Me, but I was annoyed, exasperated, and just completely fed up with it! I’m glad to know I’m not alone on this one 🙂

  4. Loved reading your answers! The Raven King 😍😭 And ooh yes, it would be so interesting to meet Sylvia Plath. So many of her poems and quotes have really impacted me. There’s so many things I’d love to ask her. I also tend to stay away from romance contemporaries! They are definitely not for me, haha.

Leave a Reply

