Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish 

This was a really thought provoking Top Ten Tuesday – there are a lot of books that I’ve changed my opinions about over time, but I never really tried to come up with a list of them. 


1. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

I first read The Mortal Instruments series in 2013, and absolutely loved it. However, in retrospect, I realized that there’s a lot I don’t like about this series. I think the reason why I loved it so much is because of all the hype going around the Booktube community at the time, and because Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia) would rave about this series. Now that I’ve been able to really reflect on the series, I realized that I actually really, really dislike it. 

 

2. The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

And now, on the flip side of things, my opinion of The Infernal Devices trilogy has drastically changed since I first read it – for the better. Upon my first time reading these books in 2013, I absolutely hated them. I’m not sure why, but I found the writing to be dry and found the plot to be boring. Fast forward to January, 2016, and I decided to re-read this trilogy – and ended up falling in love. The Infernal Devices was everything that I had wanted The Mortal Instruments to be and so much more. 

 

3. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

Let me just say: I don’t dislike the Percy Jackson series at all. It’s a forever childhood favorite of mine, and I still love it with all my heart. It’s just that I’ve become more aware of certain aspects of this book that I dislike, in comparison to when I was younger (the subtle misogyny). As a result, my feelings about this book have changed – a bit more on the negative side of things. 

 

4. The Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkin

Just like with The Percy Jackson series, I don’t hate The Mara Dyer trilogy at all. However, when I first read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Evolution of Mara Dyer, they were my absolute favorite books – I was head over heels in love with them. But after taking time to reflect and really look back at the series, I realized that I actually had some issues with it. As in, I’m not the biggest fan of Noah Shaw (yikes, sorry) and I really disliked the subtle misogyny present throughout The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Also, lots of cliches. I’m still a fan of this trilogy, though!

 

5. The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner

The first time I read The Maze Runner, I gave it a solid 4 stars. Now, though, I think I’d give it a 3 star rating. While I’m still very invested in the plot of The Maze Runner, the characters are rather two-dimensional, and the writing style is a bit juvenile. 


I could only think of 5 books/series for this Top Ten Tuesday – which is something that happens all too often with me! I hope you all have a great Tuesday 🙂

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. YES! I don’t hate The Mortal Instruments series, but I definitely don’t like it as much as I did when I first read it. Guess I just grew up and saw that some characters weren’t as amazing as the first time I read it. I haven’t read the newest books. Have you?

    1. Yeah, same here! In retrospect, I just have a LOT of issues with that series, hahah! And no, I haven’t – there are just so many books about this world that are constantly being written, and it gets a bit overwhelming!

  2. My growing distaste for The Mortal Instruments is similar to yours, though it happened while I was still reading them because I read them (well, the first 3) on and off over a year. The first book fit the kind of escapism I was looking for, but I lost interest when I read the second one as school resumed. Based on similar enthusiasm I’d seen from watching Booktube, I returned to the series with the third book many months later, because apparently it was THE BEST. But it just became so apparent how so much was sacrificed for the sake of drama. Clary would do stupid things that would move the plot along. She functioned as a deux ex machina with her powers she barely understands to save the day at the end, while Jace is the one who goes on the personal journey (with lots of angst!). People were killed to further the plot. And the romance dramatics were kind of ridiculous (maybe they’re siblings! Oh look, new guy! Oh wait, he’s actually her brother!). Not my taste, though I can understand why people like it.

    1. I agree with you on all of this – there was just way too much about this series that I didn’t like. Also, the parallels between TMI and the Harry Potter series just got way too obvious and started to annoy me (since The Mortal Instruments was originally a Harry Potter fanfiction).

  3. I agree with you about the characters in the Maze Runner series needing more development. I give the Percy Jackson series a solid 5 stars because of the epic battles.

  4. I loved The Maze Runner and The Scorch trials soooo much, but then The Death Cure ruined everything and now the entire series is forever tainted for me haha. I also loved the first Mara Dyer book, but I haven’t finished the series yet. I’ve been considering continuing the TMI series, but I honestly don’t know if I can be bothered to read something I’m almost certain I’m not going to like. And oh boy. I never picked up on the misogyny in PJO and now I’m scared to reread because that series is my happy place 😂 I think it’s great when we pick up on problematic aspects though because it shows how much we’re growing and learning!

    1. Hahaha, that’s really true! Our views of books and certain aspects of them change over time based on how aware we become of certain social issues – the misogyny in PJO is pretty subtle, but still bothers me 😅

Leave a Reply

