My Favorite Fictional Schools

Hey guys! This is going to be the second post in my fictional favorites series – and I’m talking about my favorite fictional schools. I may hate school in real life with a burning passion, but I have a special love for schools portrayed in books – mainly because they provide opportunities that schools in real life don’t provide. 


Battle School – Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

battle school

Battle School from Ender’s Game always sounded so amazing to me. Sure, it’s full of kids being trained in a military fashion to engage in a war with aliens, but the premise and training exercises within the book are so cool. What appealed to me most was always the Battle Room – if you’re unfamiliar with Ender’s Game, the Battle Room was a military training game for the students of Battle School. It’s a bit complicated for me to explain, so I’ll allow the Ender’s Game wiki page to explain for me. 

The objective of the Battle Room game was to either freeze all players of the opponent’s army, or to have four soldiers place themselves or their helmets, unfrozen, on the four sides of the enemy’s gate, and have a fifth enter. The game did not technically end until the enemy’s gate was passed in such a manner (unless every member of the opposing army was incapacitated).

 

St. Vladimir’s Academy – The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

st-vladimir-vampire-academy-14330157-800-531

While The Vampire Academy series isn’t a total favorite of mine, it was definitely a really entertaining read – Richelle Mead is a really talented writer, and I really enjoyed reading about the characters and world she created. That being said, while I don’t think I’d ever want to attend St. Vladimir’s Academy, it’s still one of my favorite fictional schools because of all the events that take place during Rose and Lissa’s attendance there. The ridiculous Moroi drama and elitism was nothing if not entertaining to read about. 

 

The Jellicoe School – On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

jellicoe-road-map

For those of you who don’t know, On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta is my all time favorite contemporary book. I read it a few years ago, and while I’ve read so many amazing books since then, nothing has managed to beat the magic of On the Jellicoe Road. This book (for the most part) takes place in the town of Jellicoe, and the boarding school Taylor attends – the Jellicoe School, which is located in the brush. The students of the Jellicoe School are divided by houses, where they have house leaders, and then The-One-In-Charge, who is the ultimate authority when it comes to the territory wars (more on that to come). Within Jellicoe are also the Townies, who attend the local high school out in town, and, for a 6-week period every year, the Cadets, who come from Sydney for training. Every year, during that 6-week period, the kids from Jellicoe, the Townies, and the Cadets engage in the territory wars, where they fight for different regions of Jellicoe (including, but not limited to, Prayer Tree, Clubhouse, and creek). It’s complete with a Little Purple Book of rules and negotiation and fistfights, and I love everything about it. Knowing me, I’d be super involved in the territory wars and would love it, so because of that, the Jellicoe School holds a special place in my heart. 

 

School Of America in Paris (SOAP) – Anna and the French Kiss trilogy by Stephanie Perkins

eiffel

The School of America in Paris is exactly what it sounds like – an international boarding school in Paris for wealthy American students. SOAP is a favorite of mine, not necessarily for the school itself – rather, for the students that attended it. From Anna and St. Clair to Isla and Josh, the beautifully written and vibrant characters that Stephanie Perkins has created make the school – and for that reason, it holds a place in my heart as one of my favorite fictional schools. 

 

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry – The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

2016362329482551_sbig

And no one is surprised. There’s no way I could create a list of fictional favorites without including Harry Potter in it! Hogwarts is the ultimate fictional school. If I could transfer from my current school to any fictional school that I please, it would, without any hesitation on my part, be Hogwarts. I spent so much time in that school via the pages of my Harry Potter books throughout my childhood, and I would want nothing more than to be able to see it all for real. 


These are the 5 fictional schools that I ultimately decided were my favorites – let me know if I missed any, or what your favorite fictional school is! My Fictional Favorites is most likely going to become a weekly series (until I sputter out of fictional things to ramble about), so I hope you all enjoy it. If not, this might end up being me just shouting into the void 😂

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Fictional Schools

  1. I undoubtedly love Hogwarts but I also love the House of Night school from The House of Night series by P.C. and Kristin Cast. The school was for vampyres who were marked by the command of their Goddess Nyx. The classes were basically held at night and being an insomniac, I would have loved it!! Plus the teachers were pretty cool and well everything was simply awesome about that school! 🙂
    Nonetheless, great post!

  2. Oh man Hogwarts would be my dream school. I would love to be able to go to all the lessons Harry, Ron and Hermione did and learn magic and everything; I’m still a little upset I didn’t get my acceptance letter when I was eleven! 😀

  3. Ooh, I love this post! St. Vladimir’s Academy would definitely be interesting 😅

    Hogwarts of course is my Ultimate Dream™. I was never the best at school, but if I was at Hogwarts I would be at the top of all my classes, I swear ahaha. I also wouldn’t know where I’d want to go first. Probably the library because oh my god, imagine actually being able to read Hogwarts: A History! The hardest decision would be trying to decide what classes to take. I can totally see why Hermione asked for a Time Turner.

    I’m also joining the “I can’t believe I never got my Hogwarts letter this an outrage” list, haha.

    1. Hahah, when I read the books, I just honestly couldn’t understand how Ron and Harry could be so lazy about their homework! I mean – Ron, maybe, since he was raised in the wizarding world, but how could Harry?! I’m pretty sure I’d be thrilled to be able to work on my magical homework, HAHAH

  4. I was browsing through your blog and saw the title of this post and somehow I instantly knew the Jellicoe School would be in here somewhere. And tada! You did not disappoint! I would be so engaged in the Territory Wars, too. Maybe we’ll both be House leaders who’ll fight for The-One-in-Charge’s position come year eleven HAHA 🙂

    1. HAHAH, you already know me! That would honestly be the dream – not necessarily fighting for the position, but being able to participate in The Territory Wars! So long as no one decides to orchestrate a coup on our regime 😂

      1. Yesss! Although I find it really weird that once the cadets are gone, every land sort of goes back to being neutral territory. Hahaha!
        Well, admit it: when Richard organized the coup, the scene that followed was one of the best ever!

      2. I know, right?? And I keep thinking about the Townies who’ve participated in the territory wars years before and now have kids of their own. Like?? Would they still be competitive or would they just smile at the silliness of it all? Haha!
        And AHHH why’d you have to bring up Griggs?!? Now we literally could go on forever about this. HAHA!

Leave a Reply

