May 2016 Book Haul // RIP to my wallet

may 2016 book haul

I obtained a lot of books this month – it’s really funny to me that I’ve purchased very few books this year, but the second I returned to book blogging from my hiatus, I ended up with 12 physical copies + 2 e-books. I ended up reading most of these books in May, and enjoyed the majority of them! A lot of the books I got (aka TRK, Queen of Shadows, The Unexpected Everything, and I’ll Give You the Sun) are ones that I’ve been really excited to read, so I’m really satisfied with this haul. A lot of these books were also sent to me in exchange for an honest review, and I’m extremely grateful to all the publishers that have provided me with them (just a quick reminder that this has no effect on the review I give a book whatsoever). 


E-books sent to me for review

Summer Days and Summer Nights, edited by Stephanie Perkins – ★★★½

The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse 

Physical Copies

Books sent to me for review

may 2016 book haul 2

I was lucky enough to have some really amazing books sent to me this month for review – I’ve read and reviewed most of these books, so I’ll have their reviews linked. Of these books, I was most excited to read The Raven King, aka the conclusion to one of my all time favorite series. 

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #4) – ★★★

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson – ★★★★½☆

The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder – ★★★☆ (review will be posted on 6/1/16)

Wild Swans by Jessica Spotswood

Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers – ★★★½☆☆

Devil and the Bluebird by Jennifer Mason-Black – ★★★☆

The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross (The Fourth Element #1)

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalo

Books I Bought

may 2016 book haul 3

I bought some really anticipated books this month – for the most part, I enjoyed them, although I found myself disappointed by The Hidden Oracle. I’ve already read The Winner’s Curse, but didn’t own a physical copy of it, so I decided to pick it up on BookOutlet (especially since I’ve been wanting to re-read it, and then finally read the next 2 books in the trilogy). 

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #4) – ★★★★★

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – ★★★

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – ★★★½☆ (review to come)

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (The Trials of Apollo #1) – DNF

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – ★★★★☆


I know this haul was really disorganized – it’s just that I’m still trying to figure out how I want to format these 😅. If you have any advice or ideas for me when it comes to formatting my hauls, please let me know! I hope you all had successful hauls in May – here’s to hoping my wallet suffers less damage next month! 

20 thoughts on “May 2016 Book Haul // RIP to my wallet

    1. I ended up having to DNF The Hidden Oracle 😦 It wasn’t because it was a horrible book or anything like that, it was just that I’ve completely outgrow Rick Riordan’s writing and couldn’t get into it. But I agree, I’ll Give You the Sun was so great!

      1. Have you read magnus chase and the sword of summer? Because I didn’t really like that one and I fear that I’m either outgrowing his writing as well, or it’s just getting repetitive and annoying

      2. No I haven’t! I originally was planning to, but after trying to read The Hidden Oracle, I don’t think I’ll bother – I know, I just noticed that the same things I used to find charming were just growing repetitive and the things I used to find hilarious were just becoming obnoxious //: It’s kind of saddening, because he’s always been one of my favorite childhood authors!

      3. Yeah same! For me I felt that magnus chase was exactly the same as Percy, personality wise, but it’s probably just Rick Riordan’s writing style that’s like that. I think I’m going to read the hidden oracle anyways, if anything because I heard that there’s some will and nico??

  1. This is such an amazing haul, though your bank account must hate you like mine does after I’ve been book buying 😀
    A few of these are favourites of mine as well; I’ll Give You the Sun, Queen of Shadows, The Raven King, and even more are on my to-read list. I really hope you enjoy making a dent in these books! And I can’t wait to see your review for The Raven King too! 😀

  2. I really want to read The Neverland Wars, I think the cover looks great for starters and I am really intrigued to see how you find it.
    I also bought The Winners Curse last month so I need to start that soon, i’m so behind on so many series.
    My wallet is also like ‘please, no more’ but then its followed by ‘ok, one more won’t hurt…’ oh the vicious but glorious cycle of book buying!

    1. Hahaha, same! I know that I SHOULDN’T spend all my money on books, but I always seem to be doing just that!

      I’m also excited to read The Neverland Wars! I’ve heard a lot of mixed things, but I’m looking forward to making my own mind up about it. I hope you end up enjoying The Winner’s Curse – I personally remember really enjoying it.

      1. Plus when all the book shops and websites have these offers on, it’s rude to turn them down right? XD
        I’ll be looking forward to your review of The Neverland Wars to see what you think, then that will probably convince me whether to try it out now or wait a little bit!

  3. This haul is amazing 😍😍😍 You got so many awesome review books too! I totally get what you mean about buying more books when you started blogging. My book purchases have like almost doubled since I started blogging a few months ago 😂

Leave a Reply

