Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons Why I Love Harry Potter

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish 

Hey guys! It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s topic was ‘Ten Reasons I Love X’, so I decided to go with the obvious and talk about the ten seven reasons why I love one of my favorite things in the world – the world of Harry Potter. I decided to go with seven reasons instead of ten to stick with the theme revolving around the number seven in the wizarding world. 


1. The School

tumblr_m7bsvtmekv1rqgu49

I love everything about Hogwarts – quidditch, the houses (although the sorting process admittedly has its flaws), the ghosts, and even the classes and professors. I’ve never really gotten over my disappointment at not receiving my Hogwarts letter when I was 11 😅.

2. The Food + Drinks

halloweenfeast

Is this slightly trivial? Yes, but I can’t help myself. The food described in Harry Potter, as seen in my favorite fictional foods post, sounds incredible (butterbeer!!!). 

3. The Ingenuity

I think everyone can agree that Harry Potter is one of the most original and inventive things that anyone could read. I’ve always loved and appreciated how everything in Harry Potter is like nothing I’ve ever seen before. 

4. The Friendships

tumblr_lyw120xvrt1qc8syyo3_500

The Golden Trio is the friendship that I feel everyone aspires to have. It’s not only the Golden Trio, though – it’s also the friendships within the D.A., the Marauders, and Luna, Ginny, and Neville. The Harry Potter series has some of the most earnest, beautiful, and loving friendships that I’ve ever read about. 

5. The World

harry-potter-hogsmead_xyfjyg

Harry Potter is one of the most well developed and complex worlds I’ve ever read about, and as someone who adores fantasy, I’ve always appreciated and loved that. 

6. The Messages

img_4002

The themes and messages present in Harry Potter are so important – we have symbolism of racism (blood purity), and strong messages of friendship and bravery. Through quotes like “happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light,” Harry Potter has some of the most important messages that anyone can grow up with.  

7. The Characters

21.jpg

Above almost everything, I love the characters in this universe. They’re all so beautifully written, and I have so much love for all of them. From Harry to Hermione to Ron to Ginny to Neville to Luna, even to Dean Thomas and Draco and Bellatrix, they’re all so incredible and vibrant and irreplaceable. 


I know my choice of topic this week may have been a bit generic, and even predictable, as everyone knows how much I love Harry Potter, but I just really wanted to talk about it more this week – since I always want to talk about it, HAHAH. 

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons Why I Love Harry Potter

  1. Very tantalizing synopsis of the best aspects of the series! I also like the good vs. evil theme with the good being triumphant in the end. Always satisfying.👍

  2. Haha to be honest, though Harry Potter is an obvious pick, I really enjoy hearing you talk about it! You’re so passionate, and it’s so lovely to read 🙂

  3. HARRY POTTER!!!! Yes! I LOVE Harry Potter! And I love the points you’ve laid out. Hogwarts is such a beautiful school, even how I imagined it compared to the movies. Although, the fact it looked so different in movie one compared to any of the other movies was quite funny.

    I want to try butter beer so bad, they make it at Warner Brothers Studios here in England! I can’t believe I have yet to visit.

    The friendships are such a huge thing in Harry Potter. I always hope that every person had a close group of friends, because friends are important when your’e growing up (Well they’re important at any time of your life really).

    Awesome post!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    1. HAHAH, you’re right! I honestly didn’t notice much of how different Hogwarts looked post the first movie until I re-watched them all when I got older!

      It’s a literal dream of mine to visit the Warner Brothers Studios and tour the HP studios! I actually live in Southern California, but for some reason, I have yet to visit the recently opened Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal?! I really need to do that soon – I’m DYING to try butterbeer.

      And that’s so true – the friendships in Harry Potter are genuinely so important. There’s really very few things better than being able to grow up with a close group of friends that you can trust to be there throughout anything. Thanks so much!

  4. I admit that I’m not a SUPER HUGE FAN of Harry Potter, but I do love it quite a bit and it makes me nostalgic every time anyone refers to it. The food and drinks and the setting all are amazing — it honestly still amazes me how much Rowling is able to create.

  5. YESSSSS AT THIS ENTIRE POST 🙌🏻💯 I love the world and characters in this series so much. There’s so many important messages and friendships.

    Gosh, this is making me want to stop what I’m doing and reread all the books. Damn it, Katherine!!! 😂😂

  6. Can I like this post a million times please? I’m actually on Half blood Prince now so I’m a little behind but I adore thisseries, it’s rich in imagery and just everything about it. J.K Rowling is a pure genius for writing such a wonderful world!:D

    1. HAHA, I’m actually so jealous that you’re able to read the series for the first time – I would do anything to be able to experience those emotions again! J.K. Rowling really is a genuine gift to us all, hahaha!

  7. Really enjoyed this blog post. I really enjoy Harry Potter. Read the books at least ten times till now. JK Rowling really inspired me to write as well. What a great human she is. She has done more for literacy than any other person i think.

Leave a Reply

