Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Fictional BFFs

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish 

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic was Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year – and, with my luck, I literally just made a post about my most anticipated releases for the rest of the year last Friday!

So, since I accidentally already did this topic, I decided to recycle another topic that I haven’t done yet – Top Ten Fictional Best Friends! You all know how much I adore well-written platonic relationships, so I thought it would be really fun to list my favorite fictional best-friendships. 

*A lot of these pictures will be taken from Tumblr.


10. Achilles and Patroclus – The Illiad

tumblr_niej2oztbp1u6mx2wo1_r1_500

Besides The Song of Achilles, as portrayed strictly in The Illiad, it has to be said that Patroclus and Achilles have one of the best friendships of all time – literally, since The Illiad was first written. Patroclus is everything to Achilles, and is the only one who is able to calm down his brash and arrogant self – in The Song of Achilles, the focus is on them being lovers (which I personally believe is the case), but either way, I love their relationship. 

9. Celaena + Nehemia – Throne of Glass series

bc8fa18f61e5aad71d646aea7c0365b2

Celaena and Nehemia had such a wonderful friendship – sure, one that was filled with secrets and half-truths, but still a wonderful friendship. This friendship represented sisterhood, and all the beauty that comes with female friendships. I loved the two of them so much. 

8. Percy, Annabeth, and Grover – Percy Jackson and the Olympians

0063ff22f8755975433e7b3d62fbcefe

Time for a classic! Percy, Annabeth, and Grover will always be one of my all time favorite trios. I grew up reading about their adventures in The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and I’ll always love reading about the three of them in all of their hilarity and amazingness. 

7. Emily and Sloane – Since You’ve Been Gone

forest

Was Emily and Sloane’s friendship a tad bit problematic? Yes – definitely, yes. But when you really focus on the friendship itself, and all of the love within it, they really are one of my favorite fictional best friends. I always think about my best friend, Stefania, whenever I read about the things they do together and their bond.

“I somehow knew that the particulars didn’t matter. She was my heart, she was half of me, and nothing (…) was ever going to change that.” – Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

6. Jem and Will – The Infernal Devices trilogy

0acef8a1ec81ab768a049fe9a414c280

While I adore Tess, Jem, and Will’s friendship as a trio, I really, genuinely love Jem and Will’s friendship as a duo. The two of them needed each other and were literally brothers – more than that, honestly. They were everything to each other. 

5. Liesel and Rudy – The Book Thief 

the-book-thief-liesel-rudy-crop

How could I not include Liesel and Rudy’s friendship? They were absolutely adorable, and even when they were so young, Rudy proved to be such a loyal and wonderful friend to Liesel. Literally, his loyalty and dedication to her was undying. Literally. 

4. Cinder and Iko – The Lunar Chronicles 

b773d17f66572f5731d7734c5dbdcaca

Cinder and Iko have an adorable relationship! Even though Iko isn’t human, the two of them have such a wonderful bond, and their conversations are always so funny to read. 

3. Taylor, Raffaela, Jonah, and Chaz – Jellicoe Road

+ the Original 5: Webb, Narnie, Jude, Fitz, and Tate

jellicoe2

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a picture featuring Taylor, Raffaela, Jonah, and Chaz together – or one of the original 5, so I settled for this. 

I don’t even know where to begin. I love these two sets of friendships more than nearly anything in the world – you all probably know by now that On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta is my all time favorite contemporary novel. These friendships have stayed with me throughout the year, and they’re genuinely unforgettable. 

“What are you so sad about? We’re going to know him for the rest of our lives.” – On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.

2. Blue + the Raven Boys – The Raven Cycle

tumblr_nux9g07nv61ttsgc0o1_1280

You’ve all heard me rave about The Raven Cycle enough times by now – but here I am, raving some more. Blue + the Raven Boys have the most wonderful friendship – they, and their friendship, are my favorite thing about the entire series. 

“But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.” – Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater.

1. The Golden Trio – The Harry Potter series

ac5d4520-9877-0133-6e15-0efce411145f

And how could I not include a classic? The Golden Trio will always be my favorite best friendship in the world – the three of them went through everything together and grew up together, and would go to hell and back for each other. I’ll love them always. 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Fictional BFFs

  1. I love this post! The picture of Blue and the Raven Boys is adorable. I think my favourite has to be Jem and Will. I loved those two together.

  2. Some of these are my favourite friendship groups; the Golden Trio, Blue and The Raven Boys, Emily and Sloane, I can even say Percy, Annabeth and Grover now I’ve finally started the Percy Jackson books! I really loved the whole dynamic between Cinder and Iko, especially certain scenes in Winter (have you read that one yet?) but I loved Cinder’s freindship with all of the Rampion crew!
    Great picks for this week! 😀

  3. Great choices! The friendship in The Raven Cycle is SO intriguing – I really need to reread that series. And The Book Thief, oh god. I can’t believe how long I’ve been putting it off. Maybe I should just watch the movie so I can understand what everyone is talking about. D:

  4. The raven boys and Blue are one of the best friendships I’ve ever read about. I just love how supportive they all are of each other, and how much fun they have! Celaena and Nehemia’s friendship was so important, too. I’m glad they had each other, because they made the perfect pair! They were so badass together ❤

    Denise | The Bibliolater

Leave a Reply

