My Favorite Closing Lines // “All was well.”

favorite closing lines

This post was inspired by Diana @ Night Train Books’ Favourite Closing Lines post – I thought it was absolutely beautiful, and it inspired me to share six of my favorite last lines, too. Please go and check her post out, it really is wonderful!

*I’m not sure if these count as spoilers, since they’re last lines, but please read this post at your own discretion! 


The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

“In the darkness, two shadows, reaching through the hopeless, heavy dark. Their hands meet, and light spills in a flood like a hundred golden urns pouring out of the sun.” 

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak 

“I am haunted by humans.”

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (TRC #4)

“He closed his eyes and he began to dream.”

We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

“The universe may forget us, but it doesn’t matter. Because we are the ants, and we’ll keep marching on.”

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

“I’m not the messenger at all. 

I’m the message.”

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (TOG #3)

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.”

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

“Go on, then,” he said. “Carry on, Simon.” 


Last lines are some of my favorite things in the world – they’re the ones that truly stick with me. For example, I’ve never, ever been able to forget Markus Zusak’s “I am haunted by humans.”

These are some of my favorite last lines, and the ones that I could immediately think of off the top of my head. I love reading about peoples’ favorite last lines, so please share your favorites in the comments, if you’d like! 

 

7 thoughts on “My Favorite Closing Lines // “All was well.”

  1. This is so cool! I can’t think of anything off the top of my head, but I’m definitely considering writing a similar post.

Leave a Reply

