Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish 

So, I just wanted to write a quick disclaimer: this post is being written very much in advance. I’m writing this post so early on because I’m going to be gone for 90% of June, and because I don’t really know how much time I’ll be able to get in for book blogging. I’m trying to schedule as many posts as possible, so that I don’t feel really anxious about getting posts up on a regular basis.

So, since this post is being written pretty early on in the month, I may read some books this month while traveling that could quite possibly end up being one of my favorites of 2016 so far. It’s just that they may not be able to be included in this specific post – if I end up coming back to edit this post and add anything, I’ll be sure to let you all know. 

*These books will be listed in chronological order, and all reviews will be linked in the title.


1. The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

Like I’ve mentioned before on here, I first read The Infernal Devices trilogy a few years ago, at around the same time as when I read The Mortal Instruments. I really disliked it back then, but decided to pick it back up early this year – and I am so glad I did. While I ended up disliking The Mortal Instrument series a lot, I fell in love with The Infernal Devices. The characters, the writing, the plot – everything was just so beautiful, and I am so glad that I gave this trilogy a second chance. 

2. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

209833621

Published: January 5, 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Length: 486 pages
Rating: ★★★★☆

I wasn’t sure about what to expect when it came to Passenger – it was receiving so much hype, which always makes me wary, and I wasn’t sure about how I felt when it came to the concept of time travel. It made me a bit nervous, HAHAH. Honestly, I was most excited about the pirates. However, after reading the book, I was immediately glad that I did. I fell in love with the concept of time travel and Travelers that Alexandra Bracken introduced, and loved being able to visit different eras and parts of the world with the MCs (Nicholas is honestly one of my favorite things ever). 

3. The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

21525988

Published: June 7, 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Length: 256 pages
Rating: ★★★

The Museum of Heartbreak was honestly so unexpected – it was so much more than I expected it to be! I went into it thinking it would be solely a romantic contemporary, but honestly, it was more coming of age than anything else. It was adorable, but it was also really poignant, and had some important messages when it came to letting go of the past and growing up. I often compare this to To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han and recommend it to those who enjoyed TATBILB, but to be completely honest, I actually enjoyed The Museum of Heartbreak more. 

4. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #4)

173785271

Published: April 26, 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Length: 439 pages
Rating: ★★★★★

The Raven King was one of my most anticipated reads of 2016, if not my MOST anticipated read of 2016 – and it in no way shape or form disappointed me. It was a beautiful conclusion to the series I’ve come to love so much, and I was just as enamored with TRK as I was with the rest of The Raven Cycle, and I remain so completely in love with Henrietta, Blue, and the raven boys. I’m not ready to let go of them just yet. Then again, I don’t think I’ll ever be ready to let go of these characters. If anyone hasn’t read this series yet, please go pick it up. I promise that it won’t disappoint you. 

5. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #4)

18006496

Published: September 1, 2015
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult 
Length: 648
Rating: ★★★★★

Besides The Raven King, Queen of Shadows has definitely been my favorite read so far this year – Sarah J. Maas has just become so skilled at writing high fantasy, and her world building continues to be absolutely phenomenal. I love the fact that her characters are always growing and changing, and so their journey never ends. If anyone is thinking about beginning the Throne of Glass series, PLEASE do – I’ve said this so many times HAHAH, but if you end up reading Throne of Glass and don’t find yourself very impressed (I know I wasn’t), please stick through the second book, Crown of Midnight. The improvement in Crown of Midnight from Throne of Glass is so drastic and impressive, and it’s what really made me fall in love with this series. 

6. We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

23677341

Published: January 19, 2016
Genre: Science-Fiction/Young Adult 
Length: 455
Rating: ★★★½

We Are the Ants was another completely unexpected read. Upon reading its synopsis, it honestly sounds really bizarre, and I wasn’t sure if it would be my type of read. However, it was extremely well written. If this story had been in the hands of any other author, I’m not sure if it would have been as well done. But Shaun David Hutchinson handled this perfectly, and gave this book the perfect balance of depth and humor. I’m really looking forward to reading more by him soon, and would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys, if not sci-fi, magical realism – this will appeal to you, too (I swear!). 

7. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

(review to come!)

17838528

Published: May 3, 2016
Genre: YA Contemporary 
Length: 519 pages
Rating: ★★★½

Morgan Matson didn’t disappoint whatsoever. The Unexpected Everything contained everything that I’ve come to love about her books – it was conversational, substantial, had strong themes of friendship (and some character reappearances!!), and had strong themes of family. Also, there are a lot of dogs mentioned, which never failed to make me happy while reading the book. If you like contemporary but have yet to pick up a Morgan Matson book… you’re doing something wrong. Go pick up Since You’ve Been Gone ASAP.


So, as of right now (early June), these are my favorite books of 2016! I’ve only been able to read 17 books this year :(, so the fact that I really enjoyed 7 of these books to the point that I can call them favorites of 2016 makes me happy! 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

  1. Great picks for this week. The Raven King and Passenger are definitely on mine. The Raven King was the perfect ending to one of my favourite series and definitely one of my most anticipated releases for this year as well! 😀
    I’ve seen The Unexpected Everything on a lot of people’s lists this week already and it’s just made me so much more excited to pick this book up soon. It’s on my to-read list for the summer! 🙂

  2. The Infernal Devices is my favorite series of all time! It gives me so many feels!<3 The Museum of Heartbreak sounds really interesting, and I really need to read TRK soon! Great list!

  3. The only one of those I’ve read is The Raven King which destroyed me in the best way. The rest are on my TBR though so it’s great to hear you enjoyed them! I’m really interested in We Are the Ants. It sounds so interesting.

  4. What an amazing Top Ten List Katie! The Unexpected Everything and The Raven King has been two of my most anticipated releases of this year! I’m so glad they lived up to your expectations ❤

  5. Yay I am glad to hear you enjoyed The Raven King, I am marathoning the series right now and I am glad to hear that the ending largely meets expectations.

    Also: Just a reminder that your post for Potterhead July is due to go up on Monday 4th July! I am really excited for it 🙂 Remember to tag the post with the #PotterheadJuly hashtag when you post it, or tag me (@readatmidnight) in it, so I can help you promote your post on my twitter! I am looking forward to your article.

  6. I’ve heard so many great things about The Unexpected Everything so I am so glad to hear you liked it so much too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

Leave a Reply

