Camp NaNoWriMo 2016 – July Session

camp nanowrimo

It’s that time of the year! I’ve been waiting for Camp NaNoWriMo to return since my half-assed attempt at participation in April – I really could use the motivation it always gives me 😅.

Wait, wait – hold up. What’s Camp NaNoWriMo?

For those of you who don’t know what Camp NaNoWriMo is, it’s a more laid-back version of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, which begins on November 1st of every year. Participants work towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30th) and takes place on a virtual summer camp. On the Camp NaNoWriMo website, participants are sorted into ‘cabins’ of four to six people, so that progress can be discussed and encouragement can be given. Unlike NaNoWriMo, Camp NaNoWriMo has no set word count goal. Campers can take things at their own pace and set their own word count goals, and don’t have to strictly work on a novel (you can work on poetry, scripts, etc.). 

Okay, cool. Why are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo?

I first participated in Camp NaNoWriMo in April of this year – there had been a story that had been playing out in my mind since January of 2015, and I decided that I really wanted to sit down and seriously attempt to write it out. I found out about Camp NaNoWriMo through Goodreads, and decided that it was the perfect time to start seriously writing my novel – the only problem was that I found out about Camp NaNoWriMo halfway through its April session 😅.

Because I found out about Camp NaNoWriMo so late, and because I hadn’t really completed my story’s outline, I wasn’t able to participate much during its April session – I ended up writing less than 2,000 words. However, I’ve continued to work on my story since then, but I’ve really been looking forward to Camp NaNoWriMo’s next session in July. I found that Camp NaNoWriMo really helps with motivation, and it has some really great tools when it comes to tracking progress. 

Since you’re actually planning to participate this session, what’s your word count goal?

This Camp NaNoWriMo, I have a word count goal of 10,000 words. I’m a bit nervous about this, as it’s been a really long time since I’ve attempted to write a full length novel (the last time I completed a full book was when I was 13 HAHAH) – but I think this story is really promising, and I’ve found myself completely engrossed in the world I’ve created. It’s safe to say I have high hopes, so I really hope things end up working out. 

Some final thoughts

I’m both nervous and excited for this coming session of Camp NaNoWriMo, and if any of you are curious about participating, I urge you to read up more about it and sign up! It really does help with motivation, and the whole summer camp aspect it has makes the entire experience really fun. You can sign up on the official site here! If any of you are planning to participate, please let me know in the comments – I’d love to share the experience with you!

I’m not sure if I’ll be posting weekly updates for Camp NaNoWriMo, or if I’ll just be posting a reflection/wrap up at the end of the month. Let me know what it is that you guys would be interested in seeing! 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo 2016 – July Session

  1. That’s so exciting – good luck! I tried NaNoWriMo one year and epically failed, haha. But that was a while ago before I realized I’m way more of a blogger than a novelist. I did NaBloPoMo instead last year, and I liked that a lot! But always cheer on people doing NaNo stuff – YOU GO! 🙂

  2. Oh thank God! I was waiting for someone, atleast a known face to post this! XD I’m so glad you are participating because I’ll be participating too although this will be my first time. I would love to have you as my cabin buddy! Although I don’t have a freaking clue how everything works there!

  3. That sounds like a lot if fun! I hope you reach your goal. 😊
    I’ve started writing again this month after a few years of just planning, and I’ve come really far in just about a week. I don’t like the idea of signing up somewhere and have a ‘word count goal’, but I wish you the best of luck! 😃

  4. Ahhh, good luck with everything Katherine!!! I hope you manage to accomplish everything that you want ♥♥♥ I’d definitely be interested in seeing your progress!! I’m not a writer, but I love seeing people’s writing processes.

Leave a Reply

